Natural Bridges National Monument

Day 3  | July 6 | Wednesday

Two hikes and a campout


7 6 16

I stayed at the EconoLodge until the 11:00 check out then drove to Durango and ate at a place called Serious Texas BBQ. The sausage was very good and pulled pork was okay. Their signature sauce was some kind of cherry-chipotle stuff. Not quite Texas, but there was a nice view.

bbq

I drove on to the Natural Bridges monument and got there pretty close to closing time. It costs $10 to visit, but I told the ranger I was going to go to Zion and Bryce and wanted to buy a full-year pass. Unfortunately, their credit card machine didn’t work, but she said just to go on and I could buy the pass when I got to Zion.

I refilled all my water jugs, found a campsite and got set up, then started the loop.

My first stop was at Sipapu Bridge. I didn’t hike all the way down to it, but I did hike all the way to Kachina bridge. The return hike was by moonlight and whatever light was shining over the horizon from the recently setting sun.

My camera automatically adjusts for low-light, but I did take a manual shot to show how dark it was at the bridge.

The rest of the loop was in total darkness, except for my headlights.

Near my campsite were some Italians or Germans or something who stayed up late singing, telling stories, and laughing.

In the morning, it was up and on the road again.

 

 


Day 1 (July 4, Monday)
Day 2 (July 5, Tuesday)
Day 3 (July 6, Wednesday)
Day 4 (July 7, Thursday)
Day 5 (July 8, Friday)
Day 6 (July 9, Saturday)
Day 7 (July 10, Sunday)
Day 8 (July 11, Monday)
Day 9 (July 12, Tuesday)
Day 10 (July 13, Wednesday)